PDA

View Full Version : Hammocks and Bears

KeyMeKoe
2005-02-14, 00:12
I am planning a trip to Southeast Alaska. Does anyone have experience hammock camping in Brown Bear country?

Jim Henderson
2005-02-14, 14:31
Sandwiches. That is what a hammock in Brown Bear country reminds me of. The old Farside comic had one where some bears come up on some campers in their sleeping bags. The bears are delighted and say "sandwiches".

I have no experience in hammocks and none in Brown Bear country so can't speak from real knowledge. I would definitely hang my hammock somewhere that it is NOT in a game trail or likely path. I certainly wouldn't keep any food in my hammock and I would make sure I don't smell like bacon in my sleeping gear.

I would assume the usual tips you can read in many outdoor mags would be valid. I would guess you aren't in much more risk in a hammock than a bag on the ground in bear country, other than being at "proper dining height" ;^)

Good Luck,

Jim Henderson

Sgathak
2005-02-14, 17:49
1. Follow usual "bear rules"... follow them closely.
2. Carry Bear Spray... not "mace", Bear spray. Different things.
3. Carry a BIG gun. SE Alaska is big boy country... you shouldnt have any problems, but you dont want to know what happens if you do.

The Hammocker
2005-02-14, 20:02
try to hang the hammock high, climb the tree and hope the bear don't deside to figure out whats up in that tree. :biggrin:

deadeye
2005-02-14, 22:21
Think "Pinata" just like a bear thinks.

Lanthar
2005-02-15, 11:00
try to hang the hammock high, climb the tree and hope the bear don't deside to figure out whats up in that tree. :biggrin:

Gotta agree with deadeye... this screams pinata...

The Hammocker
2005-02-15, 19:55
true :biggrin:

Iceman
2005-03-03, 02:29