PDA

View Full Version : New Hennesey Hammock Owner

CraigR
2005-02-23, 15:36
Hello,

Thanks to this site and the users of this forum I went out and bought an Ultralite Asym. I shuddered to think of hauling around my old heavy pack on hikes and am slowly converting over to Ultralite hiking. I received my hammock a couple days ago and it sure beats the 6-7lb tent I was lugging before. Last night I tried it out in my backyard and it was simply the best night sleep I ever had outdoors! Temps were in the 40's and I was wearing synthetic underwear, wool socks, wool shirt, and a hat. I was using an North Face bag rated to about 20 degrees and a length of generic blue foam I bought at REI for a few bucks that I put under me.

A few comments:

1) Did I mention how comfortable it was? No rocks poking my back. No weird slants that you gradually slide down at night while on the ground. No sore back, neck or other issues with sleeping on the ground.

2) Setup was easy once I studied the lashing video at the HH site. It took me a couple times to tie it and get the tension correct, but after that it held tightly and didn't sag.

3) My feet got cold. I unzipped the sleeping bag to use it as a quilt but left a foot or so zipped to use as a foot box. Since the foam pad didn't cover down to my feet they got cold. I had to pull my feet onto the pad and then everything was fine. Everything else though was fine and I was plenty warm the whole night and only woke up once or twice to correct the foot situation.

So far I'd have to give this setup a great rating. My wife and I will be doing some hiking and I was really looking for a way to lighten our loads to make it more enjoyable. With the HH and a good light backpack I'm most of the way there. On top of all this, it's an incredibly flexible solution that can be setup in places I'd never dream of setting up a tent. I'm very happy.

peter_pan
2005-02-23, 16:07
Welcome to the hanging crowd.

Aussie Nutter
2005-02-26, 03:50