PDA

View Full Version : Hennessy Snake Skins - a good investment?

GregH
2005-03-06, 20:50
I've been using my old Hennessy for 5 years and just acquired a new Explorer Ultralight Asym with my REI dividend. Woohoo!
Do any of y'all have experience with the Snake Skins? Are they as easy and clean as they appear? Do you recommend I get a pair?
Thanks,
Greg

SGT Rock
2005-03-06, 21:18
They are VERY worth it.

GregH
2005-03-06, 21:42
They are VERY worth it.

Thanks for the declarative response. Also, thanks for putting together this website. It's great.

Mutinousdoug
2005-03-07, 01:20
GregH,
I agree with Rock, but note that for the uninitiated; installing your HH into the skins is not immediatly intuitive. You have to roll the middle tie-outs toward each end in turn to prevent an unsightly lump in the middle.
It's not difficult at all, just hard to describe.

GregH
2005-03-07, 10:09
I ordered them last night from Hennessy's website. As soon as they arrive I'll set up my new Hammock, replace the guylines with Kelty Triptease, and install and practice with the 'skins. I'll likely begin posting for technique help around that time!

SGT Rock
2005-03-07, 10:21
My recommendations:

1. I put the tarp suspension outside the skins and pack the tarp separately. The reasons - the tarp can be wet from dew, and I don't want it in my skins getting the hammock body wet. I can set up the tarp on the line without opening the hammock when it rains, so that I have everything up before exposing the hammock in wet conditions, this is especially cool if you want to cook and stuff before getting into the hammock since it essentially turns it into a tarp for you. And, it makes tear down in the rain easier since you can cover the hammock and pack your backpack under the tarp, then you can take the tarp down without getting the hammock wet as you stuff it last thing in the backpack.