PDA

View Full Version : Book Review 98.6 The art of keeping your --- alive

Rage in a Cage
2005-04-01, 23:39
98.6 degrees: The art of keeping your ass alive!
Author Cody Lundin

I read Cody Lundins book awhile back and thought I would attempt to give a book review based on what I remembered. I am not very good with book reviews but I will try to touch on some of the topics covered in the book. The book was fun to read and has enough humor mixed in to keep your interest. It deals with "short term" back-country survival situations and helps you to choose items/tools and learn methods that will increase your chances of survival. It also has a great deal of information that can reduce your chances of getting into a survival situation in the first place. It is geared toward the back-country adventurer so you will not find any information on building bomb shelters or burying food for long term storage in your backyard.

In the book you will find suggestions and information on how to put together your own back-country survival kit of tools and items that are tailored to fit "your" needs. It explores possible kit components and combinations in subchapters with titles like: The private, passionate, pleasures of purchasing pompously portly prophylactics. An excerpt from this subchapter reads "The best part about having a condom in your back-country kit, whether you're male or female, is purchasing the little booger. Finally, men of all ages and backgrounds and the women who have suffered can say, with no uncertainty and in complete honesty,' I want the biggest, strongest condom you've got........nonlubricated please.' You'll be the envy of all your friends." Another subsection is titled petroleum jelly soaked cotton: fantastic family fun for creating a cheap, compact, effective, and efficient flaming friend. There is not a dull title, or page in the book.