PDA

View Full Version : What bag/quilt/pad for Hennessy hammock

sheldon
2005-08-05, 22:33
After much thought, I have taken the plunge and ordered a Hennessy Backpacker ultralite a-sym. I live in New England, am out July/Aug/Sept, likely to encounter temps down to around 35 degrees overnight. I also do car camping with a family tent (wife, 3yr old) and I was hoping to buy one sleeping bag that would cover both activities. I have a heavy fat thermarest for car camping so I am also looking for a recommendation for a pad for hammock backpacking (I don't think I want an underquilt at this time as I am new to hammocking and don't want to spend until I'm sure I will like it). I know I need a left zip in whatever bag I get, question is, mummy, semi-rectangular, does it need to be a full zip, or it's nuts to hammock in anything other than a quilt and I can't get away with one bag for both hammocking and tenting. Also as far as a pad, what type, how wide/long. Any input would be appreciated, thanks...

Mutinousdoug
2005-08-06, 00:10
I'd recommend semi or mummy bag and you'll want a full zipper. Maybe not perfect when you're car camping but necessary for backpacking if you're going to carry a sleeping bag and want to be comfortable from 80-20 degrees at night.
Look, you can sleep under anything in a hammock as long as you are warm enough underneath. Carrying all that stuff is another issue. When you are sleeping on the ground, you are going to need a pad so why not start with that?
I slept in my new HH last year on a 26" wide, full length pad down to 39 degrees and it was OK. Kind of bulky to carry but not much weight. Made myself a polyester quilt last winter and I don't think I'll go back to the pad unless I can't find a place to hang my gear. I'll give you an update next week if anything changes as I'm going camping with the "little woman" Sunday. Another 10,500 ft box canyon trip.

Seeker
2005-08-06, 01:33