PDA

View Full Version : Hennessey hammock..... first impressions

donredondo
2005-08-06, 11:02
First off I need to tell you I'm a complete novice to all this, my reasons for buying a HH is that I'm spending some time in Big Sur this autumn and I have enough gear to lug around already and I'm coming in from the UK. Ok I'm car camping, but I still want to keep everything to a minimum. [travel light - travel fast]. Also since I cricked my back surfing a month or so ago, trying to sleep in a 1 man tent on a thermarest just lost any appeal.

so my new HH arrives [had to pay customs duty :bawling: even tho it was off ebay] and I set it up in the garden, in less than perfect conditions, hanging wise. Eventually I'm more-or-less happy with my efforts and I climb in. Ok I'd strung it too low [no other option] so getting in and out was'nt that easy, mainly because the slot is tight to get your legs through [and the velcro does'nt help - as noted elswhere] I'm a heavy guy [97kg] so it takes a little bit of tugging to achieve landing and takeoff. Once in - comfy, very comfy.......

looking up and out I can see a lot more sky than I want to, and even after lots of playing there's little change.

So what would I change?

Well for a start, and at the expense of a little weight, I'd get some carribineer things and put a decent adjustable suspension system together. coming from sailing and boats there's lots of ways it can be done, although I do get the KISS priciples behind the HH.

I get the feeling that unless the HH is set up just so the fly wont do it's job properly...... so it looks like I'll be visiting REI in SF to pickup the hex.... a little more space maybe?

once the snakeskins are on, it's hard to tell which end is which, so I'm going to have to label it somehow :smile:

Oh... and 10m of 3mm spectra in 2 x 5m lengths would'nt go amiss either

However, what I've seen so far has impressed me enough.... looks like my old Fjalraven tent is staying in the UK