PDA

View Full Version : Titanium and Fire

Turk
2005-08-14, 16:16
I have an important decision to make, and I know this place
has some experts on titanium cookware.
I am forced to retire my faithful cookpot for 10 years.

I am looking at the MSR titan kettle and, titan cup.
http://www.geocities.com/roleplayingt2t/titan_cup_thumb.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/roleplayingt2t/titan_kettle_thumb.jpg

It looks like a good complete cook system.
However it may be important to state just how I intend to use this gear.

I am not a stove user. Just a straight old fashioned wood fire.

Does anyone out there know if these items can stand up to the heat?
I have never used titanium gear before and I don't really know how
tough, durable this stuff is going to be.

I was going to buy these on Ebay but thought I would get your opinions
of them and performance reviews before I spent some large coin.

Iceman
2005-08-14, 22:18
Turk, I have used the combo you mentioned above, for two years. I have burned wood, esbit, propane, gas and alcohol under both the kettle and the Mug, and have seen no damage to either. Mine are a bit stained, smoked, etc... to date, and I don't worry to scrub them both up too much anymore. I like how the mug nestles inside the kettle. I have a home made esbit burner under my mug, (inside the kettle), an alcohol burner inside the mug, and a wood burner (can with fancy holes) around the whole mess. Jam a bunch of aluminuminuminum foil around the mug, stuff in a bent spoon, and I am ready to go. I keep the whole mess inside a ditty bag to keep the (later) soot off the rest of my gear. For AM, coffee & oats, its esbit. Dinner is alcohol fuel, and if I am really bored, lost or didn't bring enough of other fuel, its wood time. The system works for me, and I am not going to weight it, for obvious reasons.