PDA

View Full Version : Bannocks

weekender
2005-09-12, 07:51
Ive heard people in this forum talk about Bannocks i have some small knowledge of these but no luck in finding a good reliable reciepe to work from.
Can any body help??? :confused:

JAK
2005-09-12, 08:26
The hard part is cooking bannock in the woods without a heavy frying pan, but it's basically half way between a pancake and a scone. I haven't cooked bannock or scones outside yet. The real art is maximizing the flour and water and minimizing the other incredients and still being able to mix it and cook it without making a mess. You can always add sugar and butter later.

Here is a recipe:

http://www.twobay.com/bannock.htm

6 Cups of flour
1 Cup of lard (or bacon fat or vegetable oil)
3 Tablespoons of baking powder (or baking soda and lemon powder)
1 Tablespoon of salt (optional)
2 Cups of currants or raisins (optional, as is honey)
3 Cups of water (you can add some skim milk powder)

It would be interesting to come up with a recipe that would work in the bottom of a mess cup, and still pop out. Taste is the least of your worries. Everything tastes good in the wild. :viking:

Maybe:
1/2 to 1 Cup of flour
1/2 to 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 to 1 Teaspoon Lemon Powder (citric or tannic acid)
0 to 1 oz of honey
1/4 to 1/2 Cup Water
1/2 to 1 oz Vegetable Oil
(covered of course)