PDA

View Full Version : digital camera suggestions?

dropkick
2005-11-23, 00:26
Hi,
I'm looking for a inexpensive (under $200) digital camera for my family to give me for x-mas. (they would probably by happier the closer it comes to $100)
I want to do pics of scenery, family doings, animals, and my gear.
I don't want it to have special (proprietary) batteries, or anything else that I would need to renew and then have trouble getting (or that the company might stop making next year).

Any suggestions?

Iceman
2005-11-23, 01:26
My choice would be the camera I have been using for the past three years.
(Most cops I know here have had this one in their car for years, so you know it is easy to use :biggrin: )

Not the most hi-tech, largest pixel deal, but:

Olympus Stylus 300 Digital, ALL WEATHER CAMERA, All metal body, all the features you need. $158 now at Amazon.com (maybe I will order another one...)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000087KY8/103-3452335-0686201?v=glance&n=502394

I have used this camera in the most challenging weather conditions you can throw at it. A weatherproof camera, I have used this one in Eastern Washington summer desert hunts of 105degrees, Mt St. Helens snowshoe overnight camp trips down to 5degrees, and surffishing photos in my waders in the surf, on our pacific coast. This camera has not fogged up, carried in my chest pocket while hiking, hunting, steelheading, snowshoeing, concert going, even kids birthday parties.This is an awesome little camera. I can report honestly that I have accidentaly stepped my 300lb body on this camera with no damage. Beautiful pictures. Everything I need, and if you are a newby to digital cameras, probably everything you need as well.

Come to think of it, just spoke with the wife, I am going to place my order for a second one right now at amazon, for $158.00 you cannot go wrong.