PDA

View Full Version : Im a Newbie

Stevelee1985
2006-01-05, 19:29
My Friends and I want to do some off trail hiking and camping, since I have never done anything like this I thought I would ask people who have done this kinda thing and see what I need to do to be able to do this. Id appricate any help on this topic and you can email me at ghsman04@hotmail.com to talk to me directly, thank you

GregH
2006-01-05, 19:39
There is a lot of experience around this board. Give us some info:
Where are you going? How many nights out? Will you be hiking or just camping? What kind of gear (sleeping bag, tent, clothing, cooking gear, etc.) do you currently own?

SGT Rock
2006-01-05, 20:47
Yes post here. That is the beauty of a forum - those sorts of discussions get preserved in a public place so later others with the same issues or questions can benifit from the conversation.

Good luck!

Turk
2006-01-05, 21:58
I am by no means an expert.. but I would be happy to share some
experiences in off trail hiking. Have aprox 60-ish nights spent off trail, in
northern Ontario. Longest consecutive; 12 nights. Longest distance
travelled off trail aprox 105 km (60someish miles). Not much ...compared
to SAR training and such, but I wouldn't say novice either.
There are some pretty major survivalists here too that I would highly
recommend listening to any input they have for you. Lastly, this forum
is stocked full of military guys, so if your land navigation could use a
few tips, these guys are invaluable. Welcome to the forum.

Let us know where you are, where you intend to hike off trail.
What the terrain is like, your basic gear loadout, any specific
questions you have, and we will try and make the best suggestions
we can for you.

Seeker
2006-01-06, 13:59
hi, and welcome.