PDA

View Full Version : Homemade Tarp Questions

Salvelinus
2006-01-31, 22:43
Hi, everyone. I've been coming here for quite a while, but have only recently started posting again after a long absence. To reintroduce myself, I'm a physical therapist, am married with two kids 2 1/2 and 5 years old, love backpacking, fly fishing/fly tying, bonsai (the miniature trees in pots), geocaching, and way too many other things to really have enough time for all of them. ;) You all are a great group of people, and I've learned A LOT from you. Thanks!

Now, I have a question and need some help, please. I know most people here use hammocks, and their tarps are intended for that use, but I was wondering if anyone could give some advice on a tarp project I am planning. The purpose will be to use mostly as a dining-type fly and a dry place outside the tent for the kids when it's raining. It will be used for family backpacking, so weight is also a concern. The kids are too little to carry much of anything, so my wife and I will be carrying everything.

I've looked at various designs and articles, and have decided that catenary cut edges would probably be a good idea (I like a tight tarp), but that I may not need a catenary cut ridgeline. I need as much space underneath as I can get for the weight. I'll probably always set it up in a modified A-frame/lean-to style for wind and rain shedding.

I've been looking at this design (http://www.backpacking.net/makegear/cat-tarp/index.html), and it seems like it might be the best for my purposes. One nice thing is that it has detailed instructions. I'll probably do without the specialized tie-outs designed for use with oars, and go with plain loops. I'll also probably add a tie-out in the center and maybe a couple on the panels to increase versatility, but I'm not sure they would be necessary.