PDA

View Full Version : Mail Call On Discovery Channel

Buggyman
2006-03-23, 15:52
I hope this subject is not too off topic, but being a supporter of our American fighting personnel, I just had to mention how much I enjoy watching Mail Call on the Discovery Channel. The Old Gunny (R. Lee Ermey) is funny as he answeres questions about the military past and present. I particularly liked the episode where he trained and then suited up to fly in the stealth bomber. Once in a while he even deals with Navy subjects, which I enjoy because I am a Navy veteran. After all, Marines like him are part of the Navy, although if you ask them about it, they will say the best part. (And they may be right!)

Some of his topics can relate to hiking, as when he talks about the gear and clothing our people use in the field. Anyway, if you are interested in military subjects, check out his show.

I might also mention that he is a former combat vet from Viet Nam who went on to be a Marine drill instructor and movie actor. He is the guy who played the drill instructor in the movie, "Full Metal Jacket."

fieldcraftsman
2006-03-23, 18:16
I hadn't heard of this show before, but it sounds great. We get discovery channel over here (just finished watching American Chopper -- heh, I love that show!), so will keep an eye out for it.

After all, Marines like him are part of the Navy, although if you ask them about it, they will say the best part. (And they may be right!)

When I used to meet Marines officers from the American ships visiting in Esquimalt in the wardroom and stuff, they often would say that every USN ship had Marines on board to protect it from the Navy! :rolleyes: I always like talking with the Marines b/c they used navy talk (hatch, topside, deck, bulkhead and or course, head) but had classifications such as infantrymen, aviators, mechanised, etc. I actually went on the Peliliu one time as a mere whelp of an Officer Cadet too...wow.