PDA

View Full Version : Best Vapor Barrier Liner

Iceman
2006-05-09, 00:21
On extended trips in cold, or cool and damp weather my sleeping bags all tend to gain moisture and lose their insulative value. It is time form me to try a Vapor Barrier Liner for my sleeping system.

After a little research I intend to purchase a WesterMountaineering VBL HotSac, unless you talk me out of it and into something else....

http://www.westernmountaineering.com/index.cfm?section=Products&page=Accessories&viewpost=2&ContentId=44

Does anyone have experience with this product. Any tips or other recommendations?

dropkick
2006-05-09, 02:26
These might be the greatest thing ever, I have no way of knowing as I have no experience with them.

I'm still low tech, I line my bag with a percale sheet in summer and winter.
I've been doing so since I was a kid.

It adds quite a bit of warmth and doesn't weigh a lot.
I've never noticed any loss of insulation value in my bag while using one (maybe it soaks up the moisture instead of the bag?)
- Though in very cold weather I also add a blanket (was wool now fleece).

Also it is easy to air out or clean, and helps your bag stay cleaner, and last longer.

Mutinousdoug
2006-05-09, 16:38
So...
Essentially, you are wearing a plastic bag to bed? All that moisture that would have gone into your sleeping bag is in the plastic bag with you?
Your bag will be dry but you gonna be clammy, right? Do you towel off before you get dressed?

Take-a-knee
2006-05-09, 17:16
VBL's work well in a COLD dry environment, that is daily temps below 0 F. They will reduce the moisture a down bag will take on and enable it to maintain its loft. It will also reduce your insensible persperation as you sleep and help keep you hydrated. It will be clammy to some extent. You'll be one damp frigid muldoon when you wiggle out in the morning. Unless climbing in AK or the Rockies in the winter, this is probably a non-issue and you don't need one.

Rosaleen
2006-05-09, 19:50