PDA

View Full Version : Propane Refill Anyone?

Iceman
2006-05-09, 00:50
OK, I admit it, I am cheap. Go check for yourself, open the dictionary, look up the word cheap and you will see my picture. I refuse to pay $2.50 for a small bottle of propane which I can refill myself for 30 cents. I refill those little green bottles of propane. I have devised a way where I can refill those little propane bottles real good! Too good. I am still learning. (this is not good). Still learning means I am making mistakes.

Here is what I have learned. Coleman leaves a void at the top of each propane bottle to allow for the contraction and expansion of the liquified propane in their propane bottles. Iceman's bottles are much heavier when refilled-much heavier than Coleman bottles. This used to make me feel manly. Ugh, my bottle is fuller than your wimpy bottle. Me bigger. Me win...(not exactly.)

Coleman bottles are probably filled at an ambient temperature of, oh say...70 degrees F. Iceman is bored in the winter, and fills his bottles when the temperature is much, much colder, let say 25 to 35 degrees. Nothing better to do, than stand in the shed and overfill propane bottle nice and full, when it is freezing out.

Now imagine what might happen later, when you store that overstuffed propane bottle in lets say a black plastic tote, in the sun. Add sixty to eight more degrees of temperature to those thin metal bottles which are really, really full of propane.

No explosions yet. But, my bottles have a unique bulge to them. Sort of like an overstuffed bra, you keep asking yourself, when are those babies going to burst out? :biggrin: (Sorry ladies...you know us men...(boys)... you know...) My bottles are blowing paint off of themselves. My bottles are exerting enough pressure, that normal propane diagphrams and valves do not like to work, too much pressure to overcome... This is not good.