PDA

View Full Version : Nestle milk bottles

dropkick
2006-05-27, 07:16
Anyone ever used these for anything?
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2006-3/1165284/nestle_milk.jpg
Sorry, best picture I could find.

After you strip off the plastic label you have a clear bottle.
While the plastic of the bottles is a little thin, I really like the knurled cap.
With it you can get a good grip and it opens and closes easily.

I'm thinking of making a "holster" that would hook to my shoulder strap and carrying the bottle with some water in it there (ala Colin Fletcher* with his baby bottle).

-I don't use a water bag with a tube, I carry nalgenes instead, so this would be handier on the trail.

*author The Complete Walker, etc.

SGT Rock
2006-05-27, 07:36
Not that I am an expert, but I was told to never re-use a milk container for drinking.

Kea
2006-05-27, 10:15
Because of the porosity of plastic, you shouldn't reuse anything like that for potable water. Just enough of that milk seeps into the plastic and just doesn't come out again.

Remember that even when using Aquafina and similar liter bottles, that you should only use them for 2 week at most, and less than a week is preferable, even with meticulous cleaning and purification.

Take-a-knee
2006-05-27, 12:42
I reuse 20oz Gatorade bottles for water everyday, they get used once and go into the dishwasher and refilled with filtered water and stay in the fridge, I've been doing this for years with no problem. Gatorade isn't carbonated so the bottle isn't pressurized, therefore it has to be sturdier. I wouldn't hesitate to use one for hiking but I wouldn't put drink powder in it 'cause it has to many curves to clean by hand effectively

blackdog
2006-05-27, 18:46