2006-07-24, 00:38
Okay, I don't want to be a pain in the butt. But I am trying to knock out
the "clothing" prep for my thru-hike. Here is a list of my complete "proposed"
clothing worn and packed for 3 month trek. I hope that the experienced
long distance hikers here will lend your 2 cents on this matter. If you can
tear into this list for me, and make any appropriate suggestions,
comments, offer better alternatives? I suppose I should outline a few of
my biggest concerns with clothing:

1) I will have laundry facilities 7 times through the course of the hike.
Hence my thoughts on carrying double of my next to skin items.
2) Shorts are not a good option. I need a really good pant that can dry fast.
Over 200 rivers to ford. And a pant that can take major wear and tear.
650km no trail sections.
3) I will be attempting to clean these items obviously many times in the field.
I have no experience with super space age materials, and I pretty much hate
to wear anything that doesnt feel like cotton.
Total hike clothing:
T-shirt / base layer (x2)
GoLite Drimove wt= 5oz
Long Sleeve Base Layer with wind protection
GoLite Endurance Hoody wt= 12oz
Storm Shell Top / Insulation layer
GoLite Xirtam Jacket wt= 15oz
24/7 everyday Pants
GoLite Valmont Pants wt= 8oz
Rain Pants
GoLite Reed Pants wt= 5oz
24/7 everyday Hat
GoLite Endurance Classic Cap wt= 1oz
Under Garments (x2)
GoLite Lite-Weight brief wt= 2oz
Socks
GoLite Team sock (x2) wt= 1oz
SealSkinz Ultralight waterproof (x2) wt = 3.5oz

Total Clothing wt= 64oz
Packed Clothing on warm day Aprox= 32.5oz
Packed Clothing on wet day Aprox = 24.5oz
Packed Clothing on cold day Aprox = 16.5oz

No, I am not actually lazy and didn't do my homework. I am looking
for sponsorship from the local GoLite dealer. So what I am really wondering
am I making any big sacrifices to quality or weight by going with one
brand name all the way in the clothing department? Is it worth being a