PDA

View Full Version : Who's got experience w/ homemade gear?

tdaward
2006-07-26, 21:26
I'm toying with the idea of making a "tarp tent" style shelter. Anyone have any advice? Outdoor Fabrics web site has patterns and material, but I have no experience at it.....

Just Jeff
2006-07-26, 21:50
Get a sewing machine and some $1/yd material from the Walmart remnants bin, and make some stuff sacks and a hammock. Be sure to use thin nylon - it's different to work with than cotton cloth.

If you can do that, tarps and the like will be pretty easy too - but you'll want to practice before you go cutting $7/yd material.

dropkick
2006-07-27, 06:32
You also might want to invest in a walking foot (feeds top and bottom material at the same time).
It will make a tremendous difference in your seam sewing (especially with nylon).

Streamweaver
2006-08-04, 12:37
www.thru-hiker.com is a great site that sells fabrics etc for diy projects .They also have alot of project ideas and instructions.They have the instructions for Henry Shires tarp tent. I agree with Just Jeff ,practicing with cheap fabric will save you alot of grief!!! Check www.backpacking.net for listings of other sites that sell fabrics etc.

JAK
2006-08-04, 14:24
It might sound lame, but I would start with a 4'x8' poncho tarp.
They are very handy.

Streamweaver
2006-08-08, 13:57
It might sound lame, but I would start with a 4'x8' poncho tarp.
They are very handy.

Not lame at all,good idea!!! :biggrin:

JAK
2006-08-08, 15:41
How slow is hand stitching?
I have hand stitched webbing and stuff, but what about long seams?

Besides not needing a machine, you could do it in the field.
How long would a poncho/tarp with a hood take to do by hand?

blackbishop351
2006-08-09, 03:40