PDA

View Full Version : Grayson Highlands Trip

blackbishop351
2006-09-27, 10:19
I posted this over on WB too, with limited success - I was having issues with Geocities. I THINK I've fixed the problem now, so let me know?

This is my first attempt at a decent web page AND my first attempt at a trail journal, so here goes!

Link: http://www.uncg.edu/~jkthomas/GH_AT_06_day1.html

Definitely let me know if it's not working, but I'm also open to content, style, or appearance suggestions!

lucky luke
2006-09-27, 13:14
hi blackbishop351,

works just fine!

darn... you saqw the ponies! all i ever saw was a pile of their apples about 3 feet high and 4 feet in diameter.... i got a good laugh out of that one...

greyson highlands was fun. warm outhouses in those restareas for the cars. and hot water to take along... (in december... ) and that one spring blocked with a huge lock!

greets
lucky luke

Take-a-knee
2006-09-27, 13:32
I enjoyed the trail report. It looks like you guys had a good time. From the picture of Allison, you were really smart to dodge those drunken rednecks, I would have moved a lot farther away. I have a similarly attractive 16yo daughter for a hiking partner, I wouldn't think of hiking with her without a pistol. My wife and I had a really bad experience with some drunks on the AT many years ago. I came close to dropping the hammer on one of them. Always remember that about 3 out of 100 men you meet will kill you where you stand and eat a ham sandwich over your corpse, for absolutely no good reason.
What were you using for bottom insulation with the hammock?

john pickett
2006-09-27, 13:41
Blackbishop,
Splendid pictures. Glad the trip went so well. I would suggest a cat stove and a cooked meal for Allison. Ramen only tastes good to me when I'm starved and have nothing else to eat.
Splendid pictures ( oh wait, I said that )
Makes me homesick for Georgia.
John Pickett

blackbishop351
2006-09-27, 15:02