PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Review - Old Rag Mountain Quilt

neuHiker
2006-12-07, 00:07
As you guys can see by my name, I am a newbie to the hiking thing.

I have inherited from my parents a habit of getting into something new and jumping in with both feet. I, however, also learned to do research, just not enough.

In my initial steps, I read just enough to really get me into trouble. I bought a 6lb backpack that can carry my 8yr old daughter if I chop her up fine enough.

I then learned about hammocks. HH is the coolest of the cool for me.

I tried it out at Mother Neff State Park here in Texas, car camping. It got to the 40's and I froze my ass off. I used a windshield reflector, 30 degree Coleman Exponent Mummy bag and got zero sleep.

The next night I got a fleece bag and double bagged it adding a space blanket under the kaboodle. Same sleep pattern and left a day early.

Next car camping adventure was at Bastrop State Park here near Austin, TX. This time I tried to use that fleece bag as an underquilt. It worked pretty well the first night as there was no wind and temps to 60's at the lowest. Not bad.
I had the space blanket in reserve.

The next night the cold front hit. I had already installed the space blanket in the "underfleece" and it did squat next to the wind. I ended up in the car.

For my birthday/Christmas I convinced the spouse to allow (yes, allow) me to get a down quilt from JacksRBetter. What's more they had the Old Rag Mountain "on sale"... I think that was the clincher.

Now you know the past, lets get to the present.

NeuHiker - Ernest Gregg (Yes, I too am labeled Ernest)

Height: 5'9"

Weight: 215# (hence the reason to want to hike)

Experience: Limited - a few of the trails at the State Parks

Similar Products Used: Two things... and Jack left town.