PDA

View Full Version : Flaw in HH design, or can't I figure it out?

turbohammock
2007-01-06, 01:16
I've been sleeping in my HH for a couple of months now, everynight, either outside or in my basement. I have been stoked on hammocks for a couple of years now since I first set up my byer's traveller hammock/crazy creek tarp combo. Although that setup was great, it was bulkier than the HH and didn't offer bug protection.

So I think that the HH is sweet, but I can't get over the bottom entry configuration. Yeah, I guess it makes it easier to get in and such, but when I close the velcro behind me, it leaves a taught/stiff ridge that my left leg rests on and it's pretty annoying. I don't lose sleep over it, but I wish that it wasn't so.

I have a explorer ultralight asym, and I understand that if my butt is in the middle and I'm sleeping on the diagonal, my left leg should rest just to the (my) right of the entrance's ridge. But if I bend my left knee at all, my leg is right on top of it. And I'm 6'2" so I can only get so diagonal.

If I don't seal the velcro, it seems to be fine, but if I just seal it the smallest amount, it's no good.

So am I doing something wrong? Am I sleeping in an incorrect position? Is my hammock defective? Or is this just something that HH users have to deal with?

Thanks for your help!

Jo:bandit: hn

peter_pan
2007-01-06, 10:20
Just something you have to deal with depending on how you turn/lay... top loaders don't have to deal with this if it really gets to you.

Pan

Mutinousdoug
2007-01-06, 12:12
I find that to be a problem if I don't string the hammock tightly enough or the trees I'm tied to flex under my weight too much. The midline is tighter than the sides which seem to droop a little.
Is your hammock strung tight along the ridge line? It should be a fairly straight line before you pull the snakeskins back. Not bow string tight, but "snug".

turbohammock
2007-01-06, 13:08