PDA

View Full Version : Ray-Way Quilt coming along...Mother's Day Project

Bster13
2007-05-15, 12:44
I'm very new to camping/hiking (other than car camping) but got hooked on some of Ray Jardine's designs for ultralight hiking/camping while being cost efficient. I purchased a quilt kit, tarp-tent, net-tent and had it all shipped to my parent's house.

My mother is an incredible quilter and I knew I'd need her help in interpreting the instructions and actually putting the items together. We actually did this on Mother's day...a little bonding is always a good present. :)

We decided to start with the quilt, figuring it would be easier...not so sure after the fact knowing how thick that batting was (I ordered the alpine upgrade) and sewing all three layers together. Here are some pics from our progress:

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b50/bster13/IMG_2156.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b50/bster13/IMG_2155.jpg

In the middle of construction we took a break. My Mother wanted a ride on my new bike, so who am I to deny her? :p

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b50/bster13/IMG_2153.jpg (I love to camp while on long motorcycle trips!)