PDA

View Full Version : Trail Menu

BigJohn
2007-06-06, 00:21
Hey, I want to start some discussion on trail menus. I'm fairly new to long distance solo hiking and am still in the process of learning/refining skills. I have posted my trail menu in the hopes that I can get some constructive critcism. I know most of you guys are probably ultra-lighters and know a few tricks here and there to "drop the weight". Most of the outdoor cooking books I've read are geared for large groups and their methods are really impractical for solo hikers. So trying to size it down has been a challenge for me. Anything you can add or subtract on my menu, recipes you know, methods, or even examples of your own menus would be much appreciated.

This is my menu for a ten day trip. Averaging 10-15 miles a day. Mess includes alcohol stove, pot w/lid, small titanium cup, and a spork. I plan to only cook breakfast and supper with one re-supply along the way.

Many Thanks, Big John

BigJohn
2007-06-06, 00:40
$32.00 worth of food for 10 days straight out of the grocery bag. Haven't broken it all down yet to fit into my mess sack. Just to let you know I'm serious. Be gentle...:ahhhhh:

Take-a-knee
2007-06-06, 02:07