PDA

View Full Version : GA AT in Middle of July with HH

SunnyWalker
2007-06-22, 22:52
Dear Friends: I am leaving Amicola to hike north on At for 6 days on July 15. I am using a HH. I have never used it in such climates before. would I be ok with the HH, Undercover (not underpad) and a fleece blanket or fleece sleeping bag bought at Wally world?

I envision myself sweating a lot and don't want to get my goose down bag all sweated up if there is no need for it.

Thanks. -SunnyWalker

Take-a-knee
2007-06-23, 00:45
A down bag will be a bad move, if you can use it as a quilt you might be okay. My warm weather system is an Exped Wallcreeper (synthetic, full zip) and a 1/4in. Oware pad 30in wide. You probably wouldn't need the pad in July but you never know, its only six ounces. I would spray my hammock with permethrin also.

SunnyWalker
2007-06-30, 13:50
Take-a-knee: I have done the permethrin. But I do not want to purchase another pad as I have the HH underpad. I was planning on using the down bag as a quilt, and the HH Undercover. I hope this will be sufficient to keep my body heat in in GA during July on the AT. I would appreciate what you think and do you have experience with HH undercover? Thanks. -SunnyWalker

Take-a-knee
2007-06-30, 14:29