PDA

View Full Version : Gerber EAB Utility Blade Knife

TeeDee
2007-07-26, 17:21
Stopped by Wal Mart the other day and was browsing their sporting goods, hunting equipment and knives.

Spotted a new knife by Gerber:

Gerber Utility blade knife (http://www.rockynational.com/2450_22-41548_Gerber_EAB_Pocket_Knife.html)

I've been carrying one of these utility blade knives for about 3 or 4 years now. I really like them - I can get a sharp blade quickly and easily and I use the thing almost daily - cutting wall board (occasionally), cord/line/rope, opening boxes, cutting paper/cardboard, cutting/sharpening sticks, cutting electrical insulation, and lots more.

The one thing I have really disliked about the utility blade knives to date though is the weight and bulk. They are big and heavy. They are too big to carry in a pocket and just too big to comfortably clip on the waist band of my pants and they are heavy enough to pull one side of my pants down so that I feel lop sided.

Well, when I saw the Gerber entry in the utility blade knife in the showcase, I LOVED it. It is slightly bigger than the blade when folded. It is light - the box claims 2.2 oz. Haven't weighed it, but that feels right. It is small enough that I can carry it in my pocket or I can clip it to my pocket or waist band and not feel my pants being pulled down. It could even be used conveniently as a money clip, but if you have more than 3, 4 or 5 bills, the clip is so tight that it is hard to use like that.

Now I can easily and conveniently carry a utility blade knife for daily use.

Pros: light, changeable blade, blade is held securely - one Phillips head screw secures blade, liner lock easy to use (but tight and the area to push is small).