PDA

View Full Version : Survey - Looking for feedback on battery life

smitchl
2007-10-09, 18:19
Hello, I asked the moderators for permission to post and it was ok'ed.

I am looking for outdoor enthusiasts to participate in a survey about their experience with battery life in electronic devices. The survey's purpose is to provide input for a new mobile power source product. I am a product manager for a small start up company in the alternative energy sector and I'm looking for feedback and discussion with respect to powering electronics while in the outdoors.

The survey takes about 10 minutes and is anonymous unless you would like to enter a draw for an Amazon gift card. The survey is here. http://survey.constantcontact.com/survey/a07e25gig0pf5fxczsz/start

Thanks in advance,
smitchl

dropkick
2007-10-10, 02:38
The survey site does drop a tracking cookie on you.

-I screwed up on a question on the first page but didn't see it till after I'd hit continue. Thought "Heck I'll just start over".
But the site knew what questions I'd already answered and started me where I'd quit the survey.

This bothers me, I don't see the need for them to track me. I quit the survey and wiped my cookies.

Sparrow
2007-10-10, 10:15
Actually, the cookie set by the survey site doesn't 'track' anything. It's not a 3rd party mechanism. If you look at the contents of the cookie itself, it is used for validating the user session so that the same person doesn't take the survey repeatedly.

Cookies aren't necessarily evil. They are a valid method of user/session preference management. Heck, even hikinghq sets cookies for forum preferences...

SGT Rock
2007-10-10, 13:28
I took the survey. I'm sort of interested to see what this thing really is.

smitchl
2007-10-10, 21:33
The thing doesn't exist yet except in some requirements documents and some prototypes. I'll be able to explain more in a few weeks.