PDA

View Full Version : washing dishes/utensils in bc

wascally
2007-10-17, 19:41
Hello all. First time poster here.

I've been backpacking for maybe 5 years or so...hiking since I was a kid. I pride myself on figuring most problems out on my own...but I've come to one I'd like some feedback on.

washing eating utensils...and I guess cookware/bowls/plates as well; even though I mostly eat out of a bag to keep the cleaning to a minimum.

what methods do you use? how do you do it?

I imagine maybe an ultra-lightweight camp-sink, using Campsuds or another biodegradable soap with as little water as possible is ideal.

my concern is this. hiking in areas of severe drought...where streams and springs are dry; camping in primitive campsites and having to drink, cook, and clean with the water you carry in on your back. I get done eating, and my spork or foon is completely coated in sticky mess, that takes more than licking to get off. I don't want to place items like this back into the pack before I hike out obviously.

Is there a method to use in this situation I'm overlooking...? Would having anti-bacterial wipes be a good idea for this?

I'd definitely like to know what the group has to say on this.

Thanks in advance;

-W

SGT Rock
2007-10-17, 19:51
I normally rinse the bowl and drink the water to avoid the waste. If it still needs cleaning I put a small dash of Dr Bronners in with some water and use leaves or pine straw to scrub the pot.

Turk
2007-10-17, 20:22
that gave me a full body shiver Rock.

Damn ....

thats hardcore!

You are setting the bar of UL conservative sanitation mighty high indeed. bravo.

Turk
2007-10-17, 20:30
Here are some more ideas for consideration..

Clean sand. I personally like something a bit abrasive. Easy to find with
almost any water source. I generally wade into fast moving water and
try and dig down a good ways to avoid general river bottom muck that could
contain god knows what. Eroding river banks are good if you don't want to