PDA

View Full Version : Which packs do you like?

NukeOneKitty
2007-10-25, 15:55
I am new to world of hiking. My girlfriend and I have a trip planned for next spring and I need to start getting some gear together. I want to find a pack for under $200 bucks (a lot under if possible). I am not going to be doing much more than weekend trips maybe 3 day weekends and short things like that. I have been looking at The North Face Terra 60 and the Kelty Tornado 4900. Are these any good for what I am going to be doing? What would you recommend? Sorry if I am overly newbie...

SGT Rock
2007-10-25, 16:29
Naw, welcome to the HQ. I'm not familiar with either of those packs personally. I reccomend you get everything else first then find the right pack. Since you are just getting started I reccomend you check out this article before you go spend a bunch of money: http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?p=206678#post206678
It should help you get started without buying the farm.

Sparrow
2007-10-25, 16:33
What would you recommend?

This might sound strange, but your pack is the last piece of gear you should buy. First concentrate on your other gear, especially the big 3 (shelter, bag/quilt, pad). Depending on the different options you choose for each of those, it can radically affect what your pack needs are. Once you know what you're going to pack, then you can make a wise decision on what to pack it in and how.

Turk
2007-10-25, 17:55
I am not disagreeing with Sparrow at all. I personally believe in the same.
However ... I have read that many very experienced people Do recommend
buying a pack first on the basis that if you buy a pack of moderate to high
volume, in a mid-weight range it will force you to pay close attention to
all the other gear you buy both in physical size and weight

This philosophy has saved several people I have heard of from making the
classic beginner mistakes.
ie:
- buying a complete set of heavy, well made, name brand gear