PDA

View Full Version : Point me in the right direction........



01yz426
2008-03-31, 06:06
I'm wondering where one might go to find the laws about carrying a firearm while hiking/backpacking in Washington State??? Thanks for any advice y'all may have....

warraghiyagey
2008-03-31, 07:07
Go west young man

Bear
2008-03-31, 10:28
Hopefully Iceman will see this post, he is probably the one who can help you the most. Hey Iceman, you out there?

Swingo
2008-03-31, 18:44
Try the state website, there should be a link concerning firearms laws.

Mutinousdoug
2008-03-31, 20:00
Go to the website for the place you are hiking. US Forest Service will have info on their site regarding firearms carry, generally following the state requirements. State reserves should be listed under the state park or state DNR. Firearm carry is prohibited in National Parks although this is being debated in the US Senate and may change. Concealed carry is generally prohibited without a permit except for AK and VT I think.

dropkick
2008-04-01, 02:18
Below is excerpts from the Washington State code.
Looks like your o.k. once you get into the woods.
Can't carry it loaded in a vehicle on the way to the woods though.
You also better check with whatever area you might be hiking in, if it's on federal lands the law could say anything as the different parks and forests don't have one overall set of regulations. And they don't always believe that state law supersedes federal.


CARRY A person shall not carry a pistol concealed on his person without a license to carry a concealed weapon. A person may carry concealed without a license in his place of abode or fixed place of business. A person at least 18 years old who is in possession of an unloaded pistol shall not leave it in a vehicle unless the unloaded pistol is locked within the vehicle and concealed from view from outside the vehicle.
A person shall not carry or place a loaded pistol in any vehicle unless he has a license to carry a concealed weapon and the pistol is on his person, or the person with the concealed carrying license is within the vehicle at all times that the pistol is there, or the person with the concealed carrying license is away from the vehicle and the pistol is locked within the vehicle and concealed from view from outside the vehicle. The prohibition against carrying concealed without a license does not apply to law enforcement personnel and prison or jail wardens or their deputies; military personnel when on duty; regularly enrolled members of any organization authorized to purchase or receive pistols from the U.S. and regularly enrolled members of target shooting or collectors’ clubs and any person engaging in a lawful outdoor recreational activity, provided such persons are at or going to or from such activities;

Application for a license to carry a pistol concealed on the person for protection, business, sport or travel may be made to a police chief or sheriff where you reside, or anywhere in the state for a non-resident. The official shall issue the license within 30 days of application. The license shall be issued within 60 days if the applicant lacks a Washington identification card or driver’s license or has not been a resident of Washington for the previous consecutive 90 days. The issuing authority shall not refuse to accept completed applications for concealed pistol licenses during regular business hours. The right to have the license shall not be denied unless the applicant: • is ineligible to own or posses a pistol• is under 21 years of age. • is free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a felony. • has an outstanding arrest warrant for a felony or misdemeanor. • is subject to a restraining order or domestic violence action requiring the surrender of a deadly weapon. The applicant must submit to fingerprinting. The license is valid for five years. The fee for an original license is $36.00, plus additional FBI charges. The renewal fee is $32.00.

It is unlawful for a person to carry onto, or to possess, on public or private elementary or secondary school premises, school-provided transportation, or areas of facilities while being used exclusively by public or private schools any firearm or any air gun, including any air pistol or air rifle, designed to propel a BB, pellet, or other projectile by the discharge of compressed air, carbon dioxide or other gas. Those licensed to carry a concealed weapon may carry a firearm while picking up or dropping off a student on school premises. It is unlawful to carry, transport, convey, possess or control in or on a motor vehicle a shotgun or rifle containing shells or cartridges in the magazine or chamber, or a muzzle-loading firearm loaded and capped or primed. While knowingly in possession or control of a firearm, it is illegal to enter any portion of any establishment declared off-limits to persons below 21 years of age; commercial service airport, or the restricted portion of a jail or law enforcement facility; areas of buildings used for court proceedings; restricted areas of mental health facilities, except that restricted access portions of a jail or law enforcement facility shall not include entrances or exits, or areas open to public access.

01yz426
2008-04-01, 10:31
Sorry, I should have mentioned.... I've had my concealed permit since I was 21yrs old so that is not a problem... I appreciate everyones help though.... Thanks...