PDA

View Full Version : How Do You Pack Food?

Gruntacious
2008-07-26, 16:38
How do you eat well and pack light? I have a 4 day camping trip coming up. I love to eat while I'm camping. In the past I've stocked up on Mountain House Meals and Ramen, but I'm looking for something new.

Does anyone have any good ideas on great meals that are easy to share and not hard to carry?

How do you carry your food? Just seal it up in a plastic bag?

What do you do if you want to bring meat? Pack it up in a bag and eat it the first night before it goes bad? Dehydrate it?

I realize I'm answering my own questions here. I'm just brainstorming. I'm a cook by profession but I can't carry a kitchen with me ya know?

Any good ideas about packing food will do here.

Thanks

General
2008-07-26, 21:17
lipton and knorr noodles. all different kinds of flavors. get some of that tuna, chicken, or bacon in the packets that you don't have to refrigerate and add that as well. store all your food in a large zip-loc or a water resistant stuff sack. the mountain house, and other dehydrated stuff is good, and you don't have to clean up dishes, cause, with most of them, you just add the water to the packet, but they can be expensive. i've found the lipton noodles at the grocery store for like 4 for a dollar. add some parmesan chease, which keeps for a long time. nutra-grain bars for breakfast, and some sort of burito for lunch.

saimyoji
2008-07-26, 21:23
4 days: freeze any meat you want. keep it wrapped in reflectix? (bubble pack/mylar) and then wrapped in your clothes. should last the whole trip.

Amigi
2008-07-26, 22:04
http://hikinghq.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=6

GGS
2008-07-28, 01:02
For meat, try summer sausage. It doesn't need to be refrigerated.

Nearly Normal
2008-07-28, 02:13
I just used some Enertia meals. I thought they were very good.
Try Anti gravity gear site or enertia.

Greentick
2008-07-28, 02:45