PDA

View Full Version : My Favorite New Wood-Stove

LuvTheWild
2008-08-05, 01:59
I studied all the wood-stoves I could find on-line, bought a Bush Buddy (love it), then replicated it with tin cans, and wrote an article on that for Wilderness Way Magazine (current issue). I've continued experimenting, and now have it down to a single 4" x 6" can you could make entirely with a utility-knife if need-be, but tin-snips are nice for cutting the door. It weighs 3 oz., has ample air intake and exhaust, has a solid bottom to contain ash and embers, so leaves no trace, suspends burning wood above air-intake and ash-tray so it burns fast and clean for a long time without clogging or needing emptying, has a built-in wind-screen for flame, and can use an auxiliary aluminum foil around it if windy. Will fit into a 4.25" billy cooking can. (Open billy with side-of-seal opener so lid is re-useable, and add a coat-hanger wire bale.) Click on photos to enlarge:

SGT Rock
2008-08-05, 02:25
Another cool wood stove design. Thanks.

kmat
2008-08-05, 12:18
Luvthewild,
Is your article in the 13-4 issue and are there directions for DIY? Looks awesome!
kmat

MRH
2008-08-05, 12:35
Looks awesome,,, I've been experimenting with building a wood stove simular to that...
great job...

incognito
2008-08-05, 15:21
Really nice design. I like the way it looks when it's burning, great job!!!!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v228/obijiwa/sub%20one/Making20Tea2x3.jpg

SGT Rock
2008-08-05, 15:22
You make something like that don't you Zelph?

incognito
2008-08-05, 15:33
You make something like that don't you Zelph?

I made one out of a stainless steel Martha Stewart flour sifter. Worked really nice, the steel turned some pretty colors after being heated to high temps. At the time I had so many stoves I sold it at auction on WB. It was Marshal out of Texas that won it. She was sympathetic, placed an opening bid and won it:biggrin:

LuvTheWild
2008-08-05, 18:10
Luvthewild,