PDA

View Full Version : Dixicritters' photography

BigSac
2003-04-12, 16:55
First of all I just wanted to give a shout out to our hard charging and squared away soldiers, marines, airmen, and sailors in Iraq for doing such a professional job. And Geraldo, get a real job, I hear there is an opening in Rio Linda for dogcatcher.

Dixicritter I wanted to compliment you on the photography for this site. Everything is clear, well lighted and with good composition and I was a Navy Photographer during the Viet Nam era, so I know a little bit about what I am talking about. Do you use a film camera or have you gone digital? The photos look good on your site whatever it is. I really have to buy a new camera and I'll tell you why-- even though it's pretty embarrassing.

I had a film camera that I really liked , a Yashica T-4 Super, but then several years ago I fell into the muddy Sacramento River while trying to help a friend dock his 29' Chris Craft at this waterfront restaurant. The boat ran over me and I floundered around a little while untill a waiter helped get me up on the dock--then I got a standing ovation from twenty people eating lunch who witnessed the whole embarrassing incident. Strangely enough there was no alcohol involved, just a little lack of coordination. I was not hurt, but my camera no longer works. I guess it wasn't meant to be 3 ft underwater for 30 seconds. My friend and I laugh about it now, but the boss(my wife) fails to see the humor of the situation and forbids me to set foot on that boat again. By the way, my friend is originally from Mobile and he is still my friend.

Maybe I should do an after action review like they do in the Army.

dixicritter
2003-04-12, 17:26
BigSac,