PDA

View Full Version : HH Expedition 2.5 Fly Extensions

fconway3
2003-05-12, 13:09
Okay, I'm new to the hammock thing, and just tried my HH Expedition 2.5 out for the first time this weekend. I messed around with it quite a bit, but could not get the fly positioned to the point where I would expect it to prevent driving rain coming into the hammock. Luckily it was beautiful out this weekend. I know Hennessy sells oversize flys for the expedition, so would I be correct in assuming that this is an inherent trait in this model? I'm thinking about sewing some extensions onto the fly to get better coverage (I'm learning to sew, and figured this would be a neat project). Does anyone have any suggestions on how to help the problem, or think extensions are necessary or unnecessary? Any comments will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Frank

Hog On Ice
2003-05-12, 13:17
I have found that the fly will keep you dry in most conditions mainly because you are generally under trees and generally the wind under tree cover is much less than in the open. All that said I have found myself to be more comfortable with a bigger covering and so these days I hang a 10 by 10 silnylon tarp diagonally above my HH - this gives a guaranteed dry spot under the hammock to sit and whatever while it is raining and needless to say no worries about rain hitting the sides of the hammock.

PKH
2003-05-12, 15:41
Ditto.
I've also abandoned the fitted tarp and now rig an ID eight by 10 silnylon tarp over the hammock. This gives me all the water tight integrity I could want plus it provides a skookum cooking shelter. Sometimes I attach the tarp to the hammock ridge line but generally I tie it off a little higher up the tree. This pretty well eliminates the problem of tarp sag and excess flapping that occurs as I settle into the hammock.

PKH

brian
2003-05-12, 16:44
I have several lenghty posts on this and whiteblaze on not only HH fly extentions but a home made hex fly for the H.H. expedition 2.5!