PDA

View Full Version : Kayaks

Sierra Echo
2011-06-07, 21:30
I'm down for 6 weeks with a knee injury and I have to get my outdoors fix. I'm thinking about buying a kayak. I was thinking about investing in an inflatable one as they are easier to move around and transport. I'm just worried about springing a leak. Does any one here have experience with an inflatable kayak and would you recommend one?

Hikerhead
2011-06-07, 21:32
I'm down for 6 weeks with a knee injury and I have to get my outdoors fix. I'm thinking about buying a kayak. I was thinking about investing in an inflatable one as they are easier to move around and transport. I'm just worried about springing a leak. Does any one here have experience with an inflatable kayak and would you recommend one?

Get a real one, a small one. I can guarantee it will be a lot less of a hassle.

JoeyB
2011-06-07, 21:45
i have no experience or knowledge about inflatables whatsoever.
i would assume reasonable use wouldn't result in any leaks.
running over semi submerged deadfall near shores or running up on shores to get out is a regular occurrence though. not sure how they'd hold up to that.

i couldn't imagine not having my kayaks.
mine seem to be a permanent attachment to the roof of my car.
http://www.wildernesssystems.com/product/index/products/sea_kayak/sea_kayak_zephyr/zephyr_160_seakayak/
my whitewater days are well behind me, and now it's just ripping around area lakes.
combining kayaking/hiking/camping is the best of all three worlds by far.
fontana lake on the southern edge of the smokey mountains is a regular destination for me.

i bought a cheap one years ago and immediately got hooked.
and have been upgrading pretty much every spring.

check out any local outfitters and see about rentals or used boats.
you can spend as little as a few hundred to many thousands of $$$'s on one.
and like anything else, you get what you pay for.

Sierra Echo
2011-06-07, 21:51