PDA

View Full Version : Practical guide to OTC NSAIDs

sundog
2003-07-12, 01:22
Practical Guide to OTC Painkillers for Hikers
Bryan Clardy MD

Disclaimer: While I am a physician, this article is meant to supplement your own knowledge and support decision making between you and your personal physician. This should not be construed as specific medical advice for any specific person. Having said this, what you do with this information is up to you, I will not be held liable for any undesirable outcomes. As I said, specifics should be addressed between you and YOUR physician.

The options for OTC painkillers on the trail are fairly numerous and the reasons for selecting one over the other will depend on a persons specific needs and desires. As such I intend to provide an overview of the many options available and what they will or will not do. I will also give the Prescriptive doses for these meds in their over the counter formulations. If you canít remember what I have presented here then I strongly suggest you read the box and follow the directions rather than guessing. I also recommend that you purchase generic meds rather than name brand, in my experience there is very little difference between the two and the savings can be substantial.
There are for all practical purposes 3 classes of painkillers available to the general public, with somewhat different mechanisms of action. Tylenol is in a class by itself. NSAIDS, or non-steroidal anti-inflammatories include ibuprofen, naproxen and ketoprofen. Salicylates like aspirin are technically NSAIDs but because of some different side effects I have elected to place them in the third category. All of these meds will reduce fever. Therefore if you are going to pick an NSAID, it is unnecessary to carry Tylenol for the exclusive purpose of reducing fever. Tylenol has some other uses we will be discussing momentarily.

Specfic Medicines