PDA

View Full Version : GPS Question . . .

Jester
2011-11-16, 14:45
Anyone have any knowledge of the Garmin Oregon 450? I've never used a GPS before, but I feel like I might want one for the CDT. Thanks!

SGT Rock
2011-11-16, 15:09
Not directly. I looked into one of the Oregon Series when I was looking for a good GPS for doing trail tracks. The thing I didn't like about it was what I had heard about battery life, but no direct experience. What I was told by someone who had one (I can't remember the guy) was he went through two sets of batteries per day.

What I did end up getting and have used quite a bit is a Delorme PN-60 (without the spot). I get about 1.5 days out of a set of AA NiMh. I would probably get more time out of Li batteries and have been thinking of getting a Delorm rechargable LiIon set to try with it.

Cuffs
2011-11-16, 15:41
I have a Colorado, and Rock is right, it does tend to eat batteries. I also have and love the Garmin 60CSx. I find it more user friendly than the Colorado or the Oregon models and not as hard on batteries... drawback is no map base, you have to purchase separately.

SGT Rock
2011-11-16, 16:10