PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone still use military gear?

Pappyhighlife
2003-09-12, 11:52
Hello all,

I,am new to the site. I want to ask anyone. Does anybody still use Military gear. I have always carried an ALICE Large pack. I tried a few of the civilian models over the years (none in the last five years) and I always wind up back to my good ole ALICE.
The fact that I will be 50 years old in a few weeks, and I have been hiking and camping for most of these 50 years does not mean I am a creature of habit, I really try to keep an open mind about such things.
My son and I have been stealth camping for many years, always with hammocks, and I just recently purchased the famous "Hennessy" But we often use new military gear. We never pack a stove we use our canteen stoves with a fuel tab and small branches to enhance the flame. We carry ponchos for rain and other multi uses we eat MRE's or other like foods. We do use civilian sleeping bags for the rating and minimum weight. In fact my son just purchased the new "Becker Patrol Pack" used by the military in some units, so we are told, which he is field testing. So far he says it's better than the good ole ALICE. We shall see. We use canteens but I have had to purchase the new wide mouth plastic bottles, because our mini works water purifiers are not compatable.

I'am a very experienced and seasoned outdoors kind of guy. But when I read some of your posts, you folks are brilliant.
I learn something new every time I log on. Just really great stuff.
That's why I would like your input, maybe there are some changes I need to make. I noticed even the First Soldier rarely mentions military gear, and I can never find any reviews. So let me just throw this out and get your educated opinions.

Looking forward to your response. Pappy m100@bellsouth.net

stick
2003-09-16, 12:48