PDA

View Full Version : Random thoughts: a case for smaller tree straps?

SGT Rock
2012-08-27, 10:23
I posted this on HF, but I know some of my hammock buddies here avoid the place, so I'm posting it here too

Howdy all. I haven't been posting much because I have been working a ton of hours lately. It's nice to still have a job considering...

Anyhow, while I was working about 90 hours last week a spark of a thought crept into my head about tree straps. It was probably ignited by a set of Dutch's new Dutch Clips I got in the mail. And before I start I must say there is a good chance what I am saying isn't correct because I am not an engineer. It is also probably going to be a little controversial for some because it pokes at the conventional wisdom - but I do that a lot and have been successful with things other folks said would never work.

So this it: maybe 1/2" wide tree straps are better than 1" wide straps.

There I said it.

Now follow this logic. It may be flawed...

Imagine your single line load is about 200lbs and you have the choice to use A) 1" strap 6' long, B) 1/2" strap 12' long. They both weigh the same in this thought experiment, so there isn't any real weight advantage. The mass should also be about the same too, so no space savings inside your pack going either way. So which is better for the trees?

Ask me two weeks ago and I would have said A. Now I'm not so sure.