PDA

View Full Version : Bit of a rant

SGT Rock
2012-11-13, 09:57
I just got this yesterday: http://www.military.com/military-report/171k-may-soon-lose-tricare-prime

Basically the military is going to reduce costs by changing Tricare Prime for Retirees. I totally understand why and, and though it sucks for me, I get it and will deal with it. What irks me is the way the timing was specifically delayed until after the election so it wouldn't hurt anyone's chance to get re-elected. I find this a totally chickenshit move by politicians. I've sent a letter to my senators, congressman, and the President (it probably won't do any good) expressing the issue from our standpoint.

Listen please,

I am a retired Army soldier with over 22 years service and a few deployments to hot spots over the years. I've been shot at, blown up, and sucked desert dust more than a few times for this nation. I am currently using Tricare Prime for Retirees and I live more than 40 miles from a military treatment facility. I totally understand why the military is doing this to save money. It makes total sense with reduced budgets and the mission still needing to be accomplished.

But waiting until November to tell us that Retiree Prime is going away has left retirees like me in a spot. See, if I could have found out about 2 months ago, then I could have changed to my employer's medical plan during their open enrollment period in October. But since you guys decided to wait until AFTER the election, I am finding out about it too late to do anything about it this year. Now I have to wait until October 2013 to sign into my employer's plan, and then the new coverage with them will not start until January 2014. So between whatever date is set to terminate Retiree Prime for me, and January 2014 I have greatly reduced coverage and increased cost. My wife is being treated for an auto-immune disorder and this is probably going to increase our costs by a few thousand dollars next year.