PDA

View Full Version : Another idea to keep warm...

SGT Rock
2003-11-19, 12:30
I have been thinking rather than fooling around with all these super stratagies to keep warm in a hammock, that simply gettins something like a heating pad that re-charges by boiling it in water might be lighter and easier. anyone tried one of these before as a heat source?

Hog On Ice
2003-11-19, 12:54
What worked for me in the hammock this last weekend at Mt. Rogers area was an Exped down filled air mattress - a great pad to keep warm on, a 0 deg. down bag used as a quilt, and a hot water bottle (nalgene). The hot water bottle was great - it reminded me of having a nice warm puppy sitting on my lap. Temps were slightly below freezing with strong winds.

Since I didn't boil the water but rather just warmed it up to about 150 deg. I suspect I could have used a soda bottle to hold the water but I have not tried that yet.

With respect to the rechargable heating pads - I have no direct experience but I think that the down bag plus hot water bottle is just as efficient.

SGT Rock
2003-11-19, 13:44
Maybe I should expound. These weigh approximately 4 ounces each, flat, and can store heat until you are ready to activate them. So if you go to bed and it gets colder and you develope a cold spot under you at night, you could pop one and slip it under you in something like a fleece hat. At 4 ounces a piece you could carry a few for the weight of one large pad and use them if you need them.

Hog On Ice
2003-11-19, 13:54
OK now I see the idea - I didn't get the part about putting them under you on the cold spots initially. Sounds like a good idea but I have never tried it so ... as they used to say here in tech support "let us know how it works" :D

Jim Henderson
2003-11-20, 18:04