PDA

View Full Version : daily milage for new hiker?

aloomens
2003-12-10, 11:56
I am new to backpacking and would like to do a week long trip this spring. I've been trying to walk more and more (3 miles or so approx. every other day, with some longer walks). I've been starting to carry a pack with some weight in it too. How many miles should I plan on per day for a first backpacking trip? It will be a well a maintained trail with no elevation changes. Thanks for any advice!

PKH
2003-12-10, 19:57
As it is your first back packing trip, perhaps you should take a conservative approach. Don't be overally concerned with mileage. I suggest planning for hiking days of 4 to 6 hours at first. That will give you a sense of your hiking speed and ability without beating yourself into the ground. Relatively short hiking days will also give you plenty of time to practice and develop your camping skills and techniques which are an important and enjoyable part of the overall experience. The bottom line is, for your first time out take it easy on yourself - save the high mileage days for more experienced hikes.

Cheers,

PKH

aloomens
2003-12-11, 13:59
Yes, you are right. My only concern with milage is that the trail I will be hiking has specific camping sites along the trail, so for example, in planning for the trip, the next campsite may be 3 miles, and the next one after that may be say 15 miles. Since I have no experience to go by, I don't have a basis to decide if I should plan on making camp at the 3 mile mark (which I know I can walk in an hour os so with no problem), or if the one at the 15 mile mark would be no problem. I guess what I trying to determine, is not what my goal should be for daily milage, but what I should use as my daily milage limit for planning.

PKH
2003-12-11, 15:36