PDA

View Full Version : Thunder Rock Zone, road/trail map

SGT Rock
2013-11-19, 20:30
I've had some experiences with hikers getting misplaced in the road/trail network around Thunder rock. It even happened to me. Anyhow, as a fix, I've worked up a little map. Tell me what you think. It would have helped me.

SGT Rock
2013-11-19, 21:02
Tuned it up a little because it wasn't very sharp

Hog On Ice
2013-11-19, 21:10
notes on Thunder Rock map

1. in middle note "Nobo: Gravel ends, cross creek & asend old road bed" word ascend is misspelled

2. in first/upper note "SoBo: Decent to curve in the road, cross the road and decend on an old road bed" both occurrences of the word "descend" are misspelled.

3. suggest adding Parking symbols for next to the campground and possibly next to the powerhouse (we parked there because campground was closed after checking with the TVA folks) ?

4. in refined version the middle note does not point to the same spot as the initial version

Lone Wolf
2013-11-19, 21:12
notes on Thunder Rock map

1. in middle note "Nobo: Gravel ends, cross creek & asend old road bed" word ascend is misspelled

2. in first/upper note "SoBo: Decent to curve in the road, cross the road and decend on an old road bed" both occurrences of the word "descend" are misspelled.

3. suggest adding Parking symbols for next to the campground and possibly next to the powerhouse (we parked there because campground was closed after checking with the TVA folks) ?
ok camo....

Hog On Ice
2013-11-19, 21:17
Wolf - if it was a forum post I would not have commented but for a published book it should be corrected

SGT Rock
2013-11-19, 21:23
I just caught those spelling errors myself. Good idea on the parking symbol. I also had to fix a couple elements that got off during the re-size. I also enlarge the fonts on some of the elements as they didn't look good on the print test I ran.

SGT Rock
2013-11-19, 21:23
He is doing me a favor.

Hog On Ice
2013-11-19, 21:45