PDA

View Full Version : New dehydrater...

Oneriver
2004-02-17, 10:34
no istructions...was given a dehydrator, one without a fan..I have never tried one before and was surfing the cooking/food section of this board and noticed a reference to dehydrated refried beans...how does one dehydrate refried beans??.certinely not on a dehydrator rack.

john pickett
2004-02-17, 10:50
Oneriver,
Cook any kind of beans,(pinto or other according to taste, I like 15 bean combo for soup) and process to smooth paste with teriyaki sauce or other seasoning (I like chili powder). Place bean paste on non-stick pan or fruit leather sheet in dehydrator or oven on low with door cracked. Dry till dry. Reconstitute with equal part hot water and dash of olive oil. Spread on corn tortillas.
John Pickett

Oneriver
2004-02-18, 10:10
John..Thanks for the advise I'll make some up this weekend, but I think I'm guna have to use more than 15 beans..

Oneriver
2004-03-01, 15:45
What would the process be for dehydrating hambuger/ground beef....anyone care to share..?

PKH
2004-03-02, 08:01