PDA

View Full Version : BMT parking questions

Hog On Ice
2014-02-25, 15:39
My next section hike is coming up (Ocoee to Tapoco and maybe the new section) and I have a few questions about possible parking spots between White Oak Flats Rd (mp 105.3 per 2012 guide) and Farr Gap (mp 176.6 / 2012). Initially I am scoping this out as a basecamp/car to car hikes where most of the hikes would be dayhikes.

the parking spots listed include that I am considering that I have no knowledge of:

mp 119.9 Coker Creek FS 228 or mp 114.2 Towee Creek picnic area

mp 128.6 Unicoi Gap, Joe Brown Hwy or mp 129.4 FS 2114 gate

mp 137.4 North end of 4WD road

mp 151.4 Tellico River Rd

The questions I have are mainly where I list 2 possibilities which one would be better, how tough is it finding the spot given that GPS is less than reliable as I found on the trip to Whigg meadow, how many vehicles can park there, is it OK to park overnight in the picnic area, any known problems with car clouts or vandalism, and any other things y'all think I should know like road closures affecting access etc.

SGT Rock
2014-02-25, 16:07
My next section hike is coming up (Ocoee to Tapoco and maybe the new section) and I have a few questions about possible parking spots between White Oak Flats Rd (mp 105.3 per 2012 guide) and Farr Gap (mp 176.6 / 2012). Initially I am scoping this out as a basecamp/car to car hikes where most of the hikes would be dayhikes.

the parking spots listed include that I am considering that I have no knowledge of:

mp 119.9 Coker Creek FS 228 or mp 114.2 Towee Creek picnic area
119.9 is next to two campsites with picnic tables and lots of water. There is extra parking, I think it would be good for about 5 cars total depending on how people parked.