PDA

View Full Version : Underquilt

sheepdog
2015-03-21, 19:04
I have a rectangular down sleeping bag that I am converting into an underquilt. My wife sewed some tabs on each corner and on the sides for lines. I've never used one before. What is the best way to attach an underquilt to a hammock. I have a blackbird warbonnet hammock.

Tin Man
2015-03-21, 19:35
For the April hike?? You shouldn't need that.

Skidsteer
2015-03-21, 20:12
Bullshit.

Tin Man
2015-03-21, 20:44
How cold does it get? I camp in 30* without an underquilt. YMMV

Superman
2015-03-21, 21:01
I have a rectangular down sleeping bag that I am converting into an underquilt. My wife sewed some tabs on each corner and on the sides for lines. I've never used one before. What is the best way to attach an underquilt to a hammock. I have a blackbird warbonnet hammock.

By golly don't you be coming to my tent claiming to be cold.

Tin Man
2015-03-21, 21:10
Lmao

Tin Man
2015-03-21, 21:11
A second pad in the hammock works for me below 30*. Easier and lighter than an old sleeping bag. Just saying.

Superman
2015-03-21, 21:55
Fuckin aye straight!!!

sheepdog
2015-03-21, 22:33
A second pad in the hammock works for me below 30*. Easier and lighter than an old sleeping bag. Just saying.

what kind of pad do you use. I get tired of lugging around the rolled up closed cell foam. It's not heavy just bulky. The square down sleeping bag stuffs down real small.

Tin Man
2015-03-21, 22:36
what kind of pad do you use. I get tired of lugging around the rolled up closed cell foam. It's not heavy just bulky. The square down sleeping bag stuffs down real small.

ohhh, missed the down part - didn't know them came in rectangular size... I use a 1/4" closed cell pad that fits nicely in my side pocket of my pack. my additional winter pad is big and bulky - mostly for those winter scout trips where we don't go more than a couple or eight miles.