PDA

View Full Version : Sawtooth & Whitecloud Mountains 2016

SGT Rock
2015-04-14, 17:38
Some of you may know that for the last couple of years I've wanted to go out and hike the JMT and take my youngest son with me. Recently they changed the permit system making it more difficult to get a permit due to a sharp rise in demand. I totally get why and don't want to snivel about that. But my Aunt and Uncle who have a cabin in Idaho outside of Stanley and have had an open invitation for us for years, you may remember pictures from a couple years ago: http://hikinghq.net/forum/showthread.php?7523-Pictures-from-the-Sawtooth-Wilderness

Next summer Skeeter graduates from High School and I want to give him a trip to remember as his graduation gift. In 1985 when I graduated from High School my Aunt and Uncle did that for me and I still think of that trip often. An interesting note on that: the trip in 1985 was to the Slickrock Wilderness. Little did I know that 20 years later I would move to the area and start maintaining trail there.

So Skeeter and I have been discussing instead of trying to get into the pipeline of the JMT for the summer window after he graduates, we are inclined to go out to Idaho and do a walkabout in the back-country with a few resupply trips into civilization or at least as far as the trail head where my Aunt and Uncle can link up with us for camping and resupply. The Forest Service website says there are 250 miles of trails here, so I figure we can sort of pick a few places we want to go and spend a few weeks walking about 10 miles a day visiting those spots by connecting trails.

I've day hiked out there, but haven't overnight backpacked out there. So I don't know what I don't know.So some thoughts/questions to those that may know more than me: